top of page

The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware REVIEW


On a day that begins like any other, Hal receives a mysterious letter bequeathing her a substantial inheritance. She realizes very quickly that the letter was sent to the wrong person—but also that the cold-reading skills she’s honed as a tarot card reader might help her claim the money.

Soon, Hal finds herself at the funeral of the deceased…where it dawns on her that there is something very, very wrong about this strange situation and the inheritance at the centre of it.

Hardcover, 368 pages

Published May 29th 2018 by Gallery/Scout Press

Current Goodreads Rating: 3.87 Stars

 

I went to see this author at a book signing in downtown Houston and she sold me on this book. I feel like meeting an author makes me a little bias, but I don't care. I fell in love with her explaining her motives and process of writing this story and went in exciting and knowing I'd love it and I did.

I did record her interview and will upload that to my website with this review for those who want to get to know a little background for this story as well, but it was far better than I could have imagined. She was such a tease when describing the book that I was excited for the little she told us, but so much more depth and twists were revealed that she never hinted at.

This story was so much more complicated that I could have imagined. I thought it would go down a simple, fun path but instead it held a surprise cliff, some rapids, and so much more terrain that I had originally expected. I loved it. It was full of surprises and took a completely different direction every time I thought I was following along and able to see a few miles ahead.

I loved the nature of Hal's job and the introspection that it gave her in being able to read people, which ended up being what saved her life maybe countless times. This was one crazy journey that lead to a remarkably more unhinged reveal. When one goes in with a simple intent of slyly deceiving then becomes the pawn in a mad house of history! Fun, exciting, easy read.

 
 

“The people who came to her booth were seeking meaning and control – but they were looking in the wrong place. When they gave themselves over to superstition, they were giving up on shaping their own destiny.”

“Some situations have no simple resolution; all we can do is steer the course that causes the least harm.”

bottom of page