top of page

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling REVIEW


Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5) by J.K. Rowling

After the Dementors’ attack on his cousin Dudley, Harry knows he is about to become Voldemort’s next target.

Although many are denying the Dark Lord’s return, Harry is not alone, and a secret order is gathering at Grimmauld Place to fight against the Dark forces.

Meanwhile, Voldemort’s savage assaults on Harry’s mind are growing stronger every day.

He must allow Professor Snape to teach him to protect himself before he runs out of time.

Hardcover, 870 pages Published August 10th 2004 by Scholastic Inc.

Current Goodreads Rating: 4.48 Stars

 

So far, this was ten folds better than all the previous combined. I LOVED this one. I haven't heard this as a favorite for many, so maybe they just keep getting better after this, but so far this is my hands down favorite. I got to learn and experience school and all the extravagantly creative facets that come with that, I witnessed relationships growing deeper, connections coming to light, and characters developing. So many layers were being pulled back and hinted towards, in this mystery of Potter, that somehow I wanted this long book to be even longer. I got to witness heart and the true colors of certain characters, I empathized with so many that pulled on my heart strings, then had my heart ripped out by others. There was no whining and sulking from the characters to waste away so much time, but the most adventure and intrigue I've seen thus far. This book excites me to start on the rest because I'm officially invested now and want the best for these characters. I would recommend this book to all age level, and it's the first of the series I think adults would enjoy. I did not necessarily enjoy the previous four in the series, but I wanted to know what the heck all the hype was about, so enjoying them or not I had a goal to read through them all at least once. Order of the Phoenix is the first book I might actually pick up and read again because it was overflowing with excitement, more mature, great structure, and extremely well developed.

 

“Things we lose have a way of coming back to us in the end, if not always in the way we expect.”

“But Dumbledore says he doesn't care what they do as long as they don't take him off the Chocolate Frog cards.”

“We've all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That's who we really are.”

bottom of page