top of page

F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher REVIEW


F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

Helena Conway has fallen in love. Unwillingly. Unwittingly. But not unprovoked.

Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered, and not even a little bit careful.

It could all be so beautiful … if he wasn’t dating her best friend. Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others.

Until she doesn’t.

Paperback, 266 pages

Published January 14th 2016

Current Goodreads Rating: 4.12 Stars

 
Tarryn - black hair, Colleen - blonde

I would like to write a novel that every, single person loves, but not even J.K. Rowling could do that. Instead, I try to write stories that pull on people's emotions. I believe that sadness is the most powerful emotion, and swirled with regret the two become a dominating force. I love villains. Three of my favorites are Mother Gothel, Gaston and the Evil Queen who all suffered from a pretty wicked case of vanity (like me). I like to make these personality types the center of my stories.

I love rain, Coke, Starbucks and sarcasm. I hate bad adjectives and the word "smolder". If you read my book-I love you. If you hate my book-I still love you, but please don't be mean to me; I'm half badass, half cry baby.

 

I read two chapters before I went to bed on Monday and was already obsessed. This reminded me of Never Never that Tarryn co-wrote with Colleen Hoover and I absolutely loved that book! The crazy thing is this came out first, so she created this brilliant idea of the dream like state for a story, then wanted to recreate something similar with her best friend. After reading a few chapters Monday, I cancelled my evening plans Tuesday (sorry World of Dance, making dinner, and adulting) and finished this in a few hours. This story was beautiful. Helena was not presented as weak or clingy. She was presented as a dang Ravenclaw. After reading a few of her other books and seeing the hurt this author is carrying around in life, this was the lightest read of hers thus far. I had fun seeing all her favorite things. She made Washington come to life and fashioned it into a paradise. She incorporated her favorite color, her favorite drink, and her love of expressing pain through art. I felt like I was hanging out with this author over a few drinks and she was telling me a kick ass story. She brought an energy to this story I haven't seen in her past ones and it was exhilarating. The story held the perfect amount of push and pull, angst and reward, heartbreak and swoon. I am in love with this story and might just make this a yearly read because I ended this book with a smile on my face.

 

“Contrast is important in life. We understand what light is because we can compare it with what we know is dark. Sweet is made sweeter after we eat something bitter. It’s the very same with sadness.”

“Let people feel the weight of who you really are, and let them fucking deal with it.”

“I think it's hard for you to fall in love because you like control, and you can't control what another person does or feels, so you keep all your cards.”

“You shouldn’t have to convince anyone to choose you. There is no real choice in love.”

bottom of page