top of page

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs REVIEW


Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) by Ransom Riggs

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Paperback, 428 pages

Published February 24th 2015 by Quirk Books (first published January 14th 2014)

Current Goodreads Rating: 4.04 Stars

 

The ending was not nice. I was on the edge of my seat, back straighten with goosebumps listening intently and it just ended! Cliffhangers are amazing and awful at the same time. I enjoyed the setting and background elements of this book just as much as I loved the story line. I've been into historical fictions lately and this hit the spot for me. I had fun getting a glimpse into these different eras of time and the adjustments having to be made to fit it. I also loved the title on this one because I wasn't sure about it, until it became crystal clear where the name came from. You had to earn the title by reading more than a few chapters in. I liked this book more than the first. I'm not sure if it is because I watched the movie before I read the first book, so I wasn't discovering everything for the first time or because the characters were already so well developed so I got to enjoy the action more now.

 

“Strange, I thought, how you can be living your dreams and your nightmares at the very same time.”

“I liked this idea: that peculiarness wasn't a deficiency, but an abundance; that it wasn't we who lacked something normals had, but they who lacked peculiarness. That we were more, not less.”

“I was too dazed to follow right away, because there was something new happening, a wheel inside my heart I’d never noticed before, and it was spinning so fast it made me dizzy. And the farther away she got, the faster it spun, like there was an invisible cord unreeling from it that stretched between us, and if she went too far it would snap - and kill me. I wondered if this strange, sweet pain was love.”

bottom of page